Breadcrumbs

Home > All Products > Generators > Portable Generators > GP Series > GP17500E
main product image

GP17500E

Model #5735

Starting At

$2,999.00 MSRP Where To Buy

Add to My Products

Generac GP Series 17500E Portable Generator

The most powerful portable generator on the market is an exceptional value. Powerful enough to start many 5-ton air conditioning units and can provide power for up to 16 circuits.

Generac's OHVI® engine incorporates full pressure lubrication with automotive style spin on oil filter for longer life engine.

Idle control reduces noise and conserves fuel for extended run-times.

Hour meter tracks maintenance intervals.

Low-oil pressure shutdown automatically safeguards engine from damage.

Large-capacity fuel tank with incorporated fuel gauge provides durability and extended run times.

Hardened 1 1/4" steel tube cradle for added durability and strength.

Integrated lifting eye for easy transport and security on the job site.

Generac <strong>GP Series 17500E</strong> Portable Generator

The Power to Live. Work. Play.

Portable generators are a welcome addition to many activities at home, at work, and away. In an emergency, portable generators can provide critical backup power. They make camping and tailgating more comfortable. And contractors appreciate the flexibility portable power brings to the jobsite.

Generac values your feedback!

When writing your review, please consider the following guidelines:

  • Prior to providing a review, refer to a product’s documentation to ensure that unit is being used and maintained properly
  • Alluding to issues incurred in the wake of negligent maintenance or improper use will void review submissions
  • Focus on your experience with the product and its features
  • Provide details about why you liked or disliked a product
  • Reviews submitted for products other than those listed will be rejected immediately
  • Any product reviews referencing independent authorized dealers, service providers, or retailers by name will NOT be posted. (Dealer reviews can be provided here)
  • All submitted reviews are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms of Use

We reserve the right not to post your review if it contains any of the following types of content or violates other guidelines:

  • Obscenities, discriminatory language, or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements, “spam” content, or references to other products, offers, or websites
  • Email addresses, URLs, phone numbers, product serial numbers, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other reviews posted on the page or their authors

If you wish to share feedback with us about product selection, pricing, ordering, delivery, or other customer service issues, please do not submit this feedback through a product review. Instead, contact us directly.

Enjoy writing your review!

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Heavy Unit I bought this unit last year to run my new 24 ft. concessions trailer G-Dub's Grub which I opened 2 weeks ago. I have worked 2 large events with 20 hrs on meter. It runs the 30 amp service easily-- lights, water heater, water pump, fridge etc. All filters, oil drain, spark plug easy to get to, which is a big reason why I bought it. Getting ready to change to Mobil 1 10W-30 synthetic w/ extra Generac filter sent with unit. I use 89 grade non-ethanol fuel. Multiple power options here folks. Heavy USA made unit. My problem with this unit is it's too heavy for me and staff (female) to handle 390 lbs. Overkill on my part. Just bought extended warranty plan last month. Weighing my options.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Not my first experience with Generac products as I purchased a GP7000E in 2009. It still runs but I have outgrown it and the GP17500E will meet all of my needs for the several different uses I have it for. Excellent product, highly reliable and all of the people I have talked to that work at Generac and the people at the dealers have been absolutely a pleasure to deal with on every level. More companies need to follow Generac's lead with product quality, reliability, affordability and, above all, the quality of the people they hire to represent their company. Absolutely first rate, Generac! Well done!
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features THE GENERAC 17500 IS A BEAST OF A MACHINE, WELL BUILT. THE FEATURES ARE EASY TO ACCESS AND THE ENGINE IS STRONG SOUNDING. THE MACHINE IS EASY SERVICE FROM BATTERY TO OIL CHANGE. THIS MACHINE WELL BE AROUND FOR YEARS.
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Alternator but great power This generator has great power runs well when it's on but every day you have to jump start it because there isn't a alternator that charges the battery when it's on. It's a hassle trying to always make sure the battery has enough juice to start the generator. If not your out of luck.
Date published: 2018-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for price and performance The installing company 1Stop Generators was wonderful. The generator is very easy to operate and has enough capacity to back up your house comfort during the hurricane if you manage it right
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This generator is really nice and powerfull. Live in northern Florida, city of Ocala out in horse country and our power grid goes down at least once a month and we also are affected by hurricanes. This generator will power your whole house if required, starts easy, runs quiet for its size. It's real heavy to move around but manageable, I am using the 30A and 50A outlets in tandem to feed my single home electrical panel because the single 50A only gives you 12KW of usable power.
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great machine This is a great machine. I purchased it to run my whole house in the event I need it. It is portable and large and heavy. I bought a small trailer to mount the generator onto for easily moving around, hook it to my truck or ATV. Trailer has room for the big power cord and other extension cords. I purchase a bigger interstate battery to start it. I also use the battery for other things.
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice machine. Build quality is excellent. Purchased this generator in the fall of 2017 after a 4 day power outage. I haven't actually used it yet during a power outage, but have no doubts that it will meet my needs. ( I actually hope I never need to use it, but time will tell.) the intended use is to provide power to the house loads needed during a prolonged outage. Our last power outage demonstrated that we needed more power to keep one of the electric baseboard heaters powered up, which had not needed to do during previous power outage. The generator was sized to provide power to some of the electric baseboard heaters during a winter ice storm power outage, as well as provide some of the more "desirable" loads, such as the well pump, refrigerator, gas water heater, and basic lights. The build quality of this machine is excellent. Nice welds, paint,source of frame components. It's a nice build. There isn't much to do, other than put the wheels and platform foot on, mount the handle, fill it with gas and turn it on. It does come securely bolted to the pallet and if you can get it up in the air a little bit with a shop crane, or hoist, it will be very easy. Otherwise you'll have to do a little more work to get it off the pallet I have an overhead hoist, so with the supplied lifting eye, I was able to very easily do the work at waist level. I filled it with gas, and it started up per the manual. No problems. Unloaded voltages were 124vac and 244 vac. I ran it for a few hours with a 3500 watt load, and everything seems fine. This is a heavy machine, so don't be surprised at that. The designed method to lift at the handle and tilt forward could be awkward for a shorter person. There is also a lot of weight forward of the wheels, so if you do try to pick it up too much in the back, the weight will want to tip it forward and there is no protection if that happens. The stabilizing foot is to the rear of the wheels. I will probably add a second set of wheels so that it rolls on four wheels and not two, and mount some type of anti tip protection on the front in case the weight does transfer forward. I wouldn't recommend rolling it around full of gas, that would be 85-90lbs of moving weight. There must have been a design change to the front panel. My generator has the 50 amp plug on the panel front face, and not underneath, as some reviews have pointed out as a negative. The manual is okay. Not totally inclusive, but definitely enough to get you up and running. Where the manual is weak, and so is the website info, is that this generator had a "bonded neutral to frame". This is clearly stated on the front of the panel, so Generac isn't trying to hide anything, but the implications of that are not completely covered. What a "bonded neutral to frame" means is that the frame "common", and "neutral", are at the same potential electrically at the generator. This bond ,if carried into your house electrical system, will create a separate, second, neutral to ground bond in your house electrical distribution system. To preclude this, any transfer panel arrangement must "switch neutral" from the street, to the generator or you risk creating a second, parallel path, for current flow on the system ground wires. The bonding of neutral to the generator frame is not unique to Generac. It's an OSHA requirement for standby portable generators. Some manufactures do have neutral switching at the generator. Maybe something for Generac to consider for future changes. This is just something that I think Generac could have covered a little bit more to aid consumers contemplating using this as a portable house backup generator. If I were to change anything, "out of the box", I would source a better fuel petcock and route the fuel hose a little differently to remove the slight loop seal it currently has created. And of course, I would change the mobil wheel design. Overall, I think it's a fine product.
Date published: 2018-05-20
  • y_2018, m_8, d_14, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_96
  • loc_, sid_gp17500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_generac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GP17500E is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 96.
  • y_2018, m_8, d_14, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_96
  • loc_, sid_gp17500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_generac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

GP Series Accessories

Maximize your investment and maintain your Generac portable generator with a variety of accessories.