Breadcrumbs

Home > All Products > Generators > Portable Generators > GP Series > GP8000E
main product image

GP8000E

Model #6954

Starting At

$999.00 MSRP Where To Buy

Add to My Products

Generac GP Series 8000E Portable Generator

Generac GP Series 8000E Portable Generator

Generac's OHV engine with splash lubrication provides a long engine life

Hour meter tracks maintenance intervals

Large-capacity steel fuel tank with incorporated fuel gauge provides durability and extended run times

Low-oil level shutdown automatically safeguards engine from damage

Covered outlets provides added protection from the environment and rugged working conditions

    Hardened 1 1/4" steel tube cradle for added durability and strength

    Fold-down, locking handle for sturdy portability and compact storage

    Heavy-duty, never-flat wheels for reliable portability

    Plug-in battery charger jack keeps battery charged and ready to go

Generac <strong>GP Series 8000E</strong> Portable Generator

The Power to Live. Work. Play.

Portable generators are a welcome addition to many activities at home, at work, and away. In an emergency, portable generators can provide critical backup power. They make camping and tailgating more comfortable. And contractors appreciate the flexibility portable power brings to the jobsite.
Generac values your feedback!

When writing your review, please consider the following guidelines:

  • Prior to providing a review, refer to a product’s documentation to ensure that unit is being used and maintained properly
  • Alluding to issues incurred in the wake of negligent maintenance or improper use will void review submissions
  • Focus on your experience with the product and its features
  • Provide details about why you liked or disliked a product
  • Reviews submitted for products other than those listed will be rejected immediately
  • Any product reviews referencing independent authorized dealers, service providers, or retailers by name will NOT be posted. (Dealer reviews can be provided here)
  • All submitted reviews are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms of Use

We reserve the right not to post your review if it contains any of the following types of content or violates other guidelines:

  • Obscenities, discriminatory language, or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements, “spam” content, or references to other products, offers, or websites
  • Email addresses, URLs, phone numbers, product serial numbers, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other reviews posted on the page or their authors

If you wish to share feedback with us about product selection, pricing, ordering, delivery, or other customer service issues, please do not submit this feedback through a product review. Instead, contact us directly.

Enjoy writing your review!

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependable work hourse Ordered as a backup unit for my home. Easily runs everything I need during power outage. The generator is fairly quite for its size and very easy to start.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased I had wanted to have an automatic standby generator; but the installation costs quoted by two different contractors was more than I wished to pay. I decided to replace my existing portable generator with one with electric start so that my wife could start it if we lost power when I was not home. The GP8000E met out needs exactly. I am pleased with the quality of construction and features. Assembly was simple, involving installing the legs and wheels, filling the crankcase with the supplied oil, and filling the gas tank. I didn't need to charge the battery, I just pressed the start button, adjusted the choke, and I was in business.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was very pleased with this product The unpacking and assembly were well described and easy to complete with minimal mechanical skills. The engine started right up and power was immediately produced. I let the unit run for a few minutes and then checked the oil level and examined the unit for any leaks or other obvious issues but none were found. I would recommend this product to anyone in need of a large portable generator for emergency or other short term uses.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best value Best value for price. Easy assembly. Started right up. Ran my pool pump, kegerator, deep well cooler, 1 window ac unit, 1 in wall ac unit with ease. It didn't even strain. Refrigerator and house lights are on solar, battery backup system. I did not try running central ac, stove, although it probably would if other loads were shut off. Connected my oscilloscope while under load. Voltage and frequency right on. Very clean pattern. More than happy with power output, quality.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Reliable Generator for home back up use With three consecutive NorEaster's this past March, power outages were commonplace on Cape Cod. Tired of being with out power, I researched generator manufacturers and dealers. Deciding upon the GP 8000 was a good decision. Fuel efficient, fairly quiet, many options, and most importantly ease of use. I travel frequently and wanted my wife to comfortable running it if needed. Not being mechanically astute, she quickly grasped the concepts and was comfortable operating the generator. Definitely recommend.
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Quality Generator GP8000E This GP8000E has most of the features I was looking for in a replacement/upgrade Generator. Electric Start is a must for me, Hour meter for Maintenance intervals is a great feature, low oil shut down, and charger for the battery. This unit came with Plastic "No Flat" tires that I find are harder to maneuver the unit with over the driveway lip, gravel etc. these obstacles are mini stopping blocks for these tires compared to pneumatic tires. One noteworthy item I was surprised with is no oil filter as my older Generac has a spin on oil filter but that's not a deal breaker for me. With GENERAC's quality and reputation I expect to get another 10 plus years out of this unit as I have on my old Generac that will be passed on to a family member home for back-up there. Overall i'm very pleased so far with my upgraded unit. I would recommend this unit for any homeowner as back-up power.
Date published: 2018-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features Including electric start which is an awesome feature to the mobility kit making it easy to store and pull out when needed.
Date published: 2018-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Generator Generac makes a quality product at an affordable price; plus I prefer to support American made products. I bought this model on sale for $800. In the past 15 months, I've only put 75 hours on this unit to date (although it ran for 72 hours recently with several cooling/fueling/oil check breaks - at 40 hours, I hadn't burned a drop of oil but I did the first oil change). Basic maintenance is simple enough for anybody to perform. The GP8000E feeds my main panel and powers everything I demand in my house, such as my pellet stove, electric range, well pump, lights, microwave, outlets and TV. I haven't tried powering my hot water heater but at 5,500 watts, I think it would do just fine if I shut some stuff off. It sits approximately 20 feet from my bedroom; the noise is barely noticeable when I am laying in bed. I do ensure that my carbon monoxide detectors are on whenever I have this unit powering my house. It's much more fuel efficient than I expected, averaging around 2 hours per gallon of fuel. With all of this being said, I do hear a bit of occasional surging once the temperature hits 25 degrees or below but it has no performance issues. In my opinion, portable gas powered generators are the way to go for powering a house during an emergency. Natural gas isn't an option in my area so we are limited to propane; getting a propane delivery after being without power for a week isn't always an option!
Date published: 2018-03-07
  • y_2018, m_5, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_59
  • loc_, sid_gp8000e, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_generac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GP8000E is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 59.
  • y_2018, m_5, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_59
  • loc_, sid_gp8000e, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_generac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

GP Series Accessories

Maximize your investment and maintain your Generac portable generator with a variety of accessories.